The Michigan Golf Hall of Fame is a heralded collection of portraits, plaques, and memorabilia that commemorate the finest players and contributors to golf in our state, including Walter Hagen, Chuck Kocsis, Ben Davis and Shirley Spork and more contemporary notables Dave and Mike Hill, Dan Pohl, Meg Mallon, and Kelly Robbins.

The Hall of Fame collection is housed and displayed in the Ken Janke Golf Learning Center at Ferris State University’s Katke Golf Club in Big Rapids. A successful fundraising effort produced the state-of-the-art center, which serves the acclaimed Professional Golf Management Program at Ferris as well as helps preserve Michigan golf’s tremendous legacy.

The Hall of Fame is administered by the Michigan Golf Hall of Fame Committee, which is funded through the non-profit Michigan Golf Foundation (501(c) (3) since 1996) and includes 18 members representing state golf associations and media outlets.

Michigan Golf Hall of Fame founder Ken Janke, with the support of Indianwood Golf & Country Club owner Stan Aldridge, started the Hall in 1982, and the first class elected included the legendary showman Hagen, Michigan’s own version of Bobby Jones in Kocsis and the longtime Oakland Hills Country Club pro Watrous, who played on the first two Ryder Cup Teams for the United States.

The Hall of Fame Committee conducts the election of members to the Hall of Fame. It is an honor bestowed upon individuals who have contributed greatly to the game in our state and beyond while demonstrating leadership, professionalism, character and the highest standards of conduct.

To be elected to the Michigan Golf Hall of Fame a nominee must be at least 45-years-old and have lived in Michigan for at least 5 years.

Official nominations are made by current members of the Hall of Fame and current members of the Hall of Fame Committee. Individuals may suggest nominees through a Hall of Fame member or a committee member.

Criteria for nominees include playing ability, fame, leadership, instruction, impact, promotion, service and administration.

Hall of Fame Committee members review all nominations and conduct a vote to determine a ballot. Michigan Golf Hall of Fame members and Committee members then vote on that ballot to determine the annual class. Induction into Michigan Golf Hall of Fame reflects the perspective of voters at the time of the election.


Loretta Larkin, Administrator, directs the day-to-day business of the Michigan Golf Hall of Fame and maintains our non-profit status under the Michigan Golf Foundation.

Voting members

Greg Johnson, media, current chairman

Bob Bales, Michigan Section PGA

Fritz Balmer, Golf Association of Michigan

Ashley Dewling, Golf Association of Michigan

James R. Dewling, Michigan Golf Course Association

Joan Garety, Michigan Golf Hall of Fame member

Kevin Helm, Michigan Section PGA

Bill Hobson, media

Adam Ikamas, Michigan Golf Course Superintendents Association

Janina Jacobs, Michigan Women’s Golf Association

Gordon LaFontaine, Michigan Turfgrass Foundation

Judy Lazzaro, Women’s Metropolitan Golf Association

Jason May, Michigan Publinx Golf Association

Terry Moore, media

Chris Whitten, Golf Association of Michigan

Mark Wilson, Ferris State University PGM Program